“Sackcloth and Ashes”: The True Meaning of Repentance


**I don’t know why I’m on such a “repentance craze” lately, but after my post yesterday I decided to record some thoughts from my mission journal about the topic of sackcloth and ashes and what it has to do with repentance. As with all the other material covered thus far, I don’t claim by any means to be an expert in Biblical history and its accompanying traditions. These are just thoughts a 19 year old young man gathered from the scriptures one evening in a country with not much more than 2 million people. I would love to hear whatever insights you have on this subject!**

From one of my mission journals, November 9th, 2011; Windhoek, Namibia

Throughout my mission, bishops and branch presidents often came up to us missionaries and voiced the same concern: “Our people do not know how to repent.” This was an interesting statement and has stuck with me even up till now. It has caused me to think if I even know how to repent. Missionaries are known for repeating the same old “ABC’s of repentance”, being:

  • A= Acknowledge your wrong doings
  • B= Be sorry, or feel bad
  • C= Confess your sins to the Lord (or priesthood authority if the sin warrants!)
  • D= Don’t do it again

This illustration, while doctrinally correct, can lead people to think about repentance as a casual thing. Yes, even as casual as the ABC’s.

The Old Testament and the Book of Mormon give a unique view of repentance that is less repeated or emphasized today due to changes in culture and time, that unique view being covering oneself in sackcloth and ashes. This custom is not a major recurring theme in the scriptures, but when it is mentioned it is always follows after major act of sin, transgression or mourning.

After Jonah preached repentance to wicked Nineveh, the king “arose from his throne, and he laid his robe from him with sackcloth, and sat in ashes.” (Jonah 2:6) The king even went so far as to proclaim that every “man and beast be covered with sackcloth and cry mightily unto God” (verse 8). The Book of Mormon prophet Abinadi also approaches the wicked people of King Noah and said that “except they repent in sackcloth and ashes, and cry mightily unto the Lord their God, [he] will not hear their prayers, neither will [he] deliver them out of their afflictions.” (Mosiah 11:25)

And yet another example is found in the Book of Esther when king Ahaseurus, with the help of Haman his wicked servant, sent a decree to kill “all Jews, both young and old, little children and women, in one day.” (Esther 3:13) The magnitude of this evil act caused Mordecai, Esther’s faithful guardian, and all the Jews to engage in “fasting, and weeping, and wailing; and many lay in sackcloth and ashes.” (Esther 4:3) Esther even sent  “raiment to clothe Mordecai, and to take away his sackcloth from him: but he received it not.” (verse 4)

So what is the real significance of “sackcloth” and “ashes”? It would be helpful to look at the two words separately:

SACKCLOTH

Sackcloth registers to most as more of a scratchy, burlap grain bag that one might cut holes through to use as clothing, but in Biblical times such cloth was made from coarse goat hair. Although it was customarily used for sacks, people wore such clothing as a sign of true repentance and/or humility.

John the revelator refers to sackcloth with intriguing imagery as the sixth seal is unfolded to his view in the Book of Revelation. He says, “And I beheld when he [the Lamb; Christ] had opened the sixth seal…the sun became black as sackcloth of hair…” (Revelation 6:12) Doctrine and Covenants 88:87 gives us an idea of what is meant when John referred to the sun becoming “black as sackcloth of hair” in the last days. The Lord revealed, “For not many days hence…the sun shall hide his face and shall refuse to give light.”

These two scriptures help us figure out what is meant by “sackcloth” in the context of repentance. If, in the last days, the sun will be clothed in it, which will in turn cause him to “hide his face and…refuse to give light,” that must mean the sackcloth is a sign of shame, regret, or disappointment. When we are entangled in sin, do we not want to crawl into a corner and cover ourselves from the public eye? Do we not want to “hide our faces” and “refuse to give light” because of all the shame and embarrassment that is often associated with sin? Or, like in the case of Mordecai and the mourning Jews, do we not at times feel like hiding or isolating ourselves from the wickedness and cruel nature of man and mourn the hardness of their hearts? This is where “ashes” adds more meaning to this predominately Old Testament custom.

ASHES

Ashes are, of course, the remnants of any burnt object. It is black and gray in color and levels itself with the earth. To help give meaning as to why it is important and symbolic in the repentance process alongside sackcloth, we can look at Genesis 18:26. As the prophet Abraham discusses the fate of Sodom and Gomorrah with the Lord, he acknowledges his weakness as a mortal man by saying, “Behold, now I have taken upon me to speak unto the Lord, which am but dust and ashes…” By admitting his own nothingness, even by referring to himself as “but dust and ashes”, Abraham displayed the celestial attribute of humility.

Conversely, the wicked inhabitants of Sodom and Gomorrah refused to humble themselves to the dust, so God compelled them to be humble by “turning the [city]…into ashes condemn[ing] them with an overthrow.” (2 Peter 2:6) Their prideful ways brought them from their lofty and prideful heights to the dust of the earth in the form of ashes.

From these scriptural accounts, it is clear ashes is a representation of humility and perhaps even sacrifice, as many Old Testament references to ashes alone deal primarily with burnt sacrifices. Sackcloth and ashes combines seem to send a message of shame, regret, and humility.

So to sum it all up, repentance is far more than a casual thing. As the Bible Dictionary states, repentance means “to turn” or, turn from something. Sincere repentance is hard, but brings forth so many rewards in the end that make the suffering worth it. How grateful we should all be that Jesus Christ suffered throughout His ministry so that we could repent. Truly repentant sinners not only feel deep sorrow for sin but also humble themselves before God so He can shape them into becoming and realizing their full potential.

Any thoughts or added insights on this subject? I’d love to hear it!
~Matt

web statistics

Posted on October 30, 2012, in Atonement, Repentance. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. At one time, I would have began by saying I wonder how many people have cried in brokenness when confronted by their own sinfulness. To say that makes it sound as though doing this is somehow a thing for which to be proud. It isn’t. As much as I like the idea of being broken at the realization of sinfulness in my life, I would much rather rejoice at an ongoing track record of purity and faithfulness. On this day, I cannot do that. Today is a day of reflection about last night when, after a day rejoicing in how incredible it is to know and follow Jesus with my whole heart, I withheld that same heart in selfishness and followed the path of my own lustful desires. There was a time when it didn’t even matter. I claimed the Name of Jesus, lived in secret sin and acted as if all was okay. Mourning over my sinfulness held no meaning. It was like a natural part of the Christian process of making a halfhearted decision to follow, knowing full well I would obey my own desires and do it all again. While I am somewhat comforted that I now know the difference between following God in faithful purity and living in a cycle of ungodliness that passes with many as a Christian life of growing up spiritually, I am still left with this incredible sorrow that I stood at a crossroads where God’s hand was their to grasp and I chose not to take hold. I awoke to the voice of the Spirit prompting me from Romans over and again, “…How shall we, that are dead to sin, live any longer therein?” And so this afternoon, after sleeping late, prolonging when I should face the day, I sit in my personal shame. Not disgusted over my choice last night, but devastated in sorrow that I did not chose God over sin. How can this be? I’m 49 years old. For the first time in my life a few months ago I had come to grips with the psuedo-christian world view, fully given up on knowing only scripture, finally knowing Jesus and laid aside the tolerance of impurity to follow the Spirit’s call. In all those years of trying to be good, I gave up all for Him. How have I finally understood what that means, only to come to the realization that there are moments when I’ll chose sin over God?! Never before have i known such mournful sorrow. I’m troubled with where to go from here because of all those years when I made resolve to begin anew, only to live in a cycle of impurity masquerading itself as the best I could do. How am I here again in the aftermath of obeying lust and rejecting God?

  2. Talk to the Lord as a child would cryout to his Father.He understands us perfectly and is more eager to forgive us than we desire His forgiveness. We read of His nature in the parable of the prodigal son that He runs (the only place in the Bible where God is pictured as running) towards the repenting son and celebrates his return.

  3. You are forgiven GOD says HE is a respecter of none ! (Acts 10:34) Sinner’s are forgiven period! Ask for it Brother in CHRIST don’t let the advasary robe your forgiveness , GOD is the only one who knows your thoughts , HE will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear (1Corithians 10:13) GODS grace is abundant without limit , I encourage you to pray , pray deligently , mediate the word and promises of GOD ! May Our Powerful and Mighty GOD bestow wisdom and grace upon you .. In JESUS CHRIST name we ask !

  4. Some intersting thoughts. Are you Morman Catholic are Protestant ?

  5. very serious subject. Certainly we can repent from our minds, acknowledging our sinfulness. However, unless it comes from the heart, it is probably just an exercise of religion. So the question is how do we truly see our sin from the heart and thereby truly repent in brokeness. I need His Spirit to open the eyes of my heart like the day I believed. It’s a “Wonderful” journey, seek and you will find.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

