Question: How does someone receive Christ’s image in their countenance?


Photo credit: Unknown (lds.org)

About once a week on this blog, I’d like to do a Q&A session, primarily to motivate discussion and deeper thought. For those who know me best, I love to ruffle feathers. As a child it grew from a hobby to an art form because I was raised in a home with three sisters πŸ™‚ On this blog, however, my intention is not to clutter it with insignificant or otherwise futile discussion points that will leave the reader more frustrated than before they came. That intention has actually never once crossed my mind, especially in relation to the gospel.

With that being said, I have a question for all of you, and it’s a serious one. I have posed it because this was asked many times on my mission and in my own life before, during, and after my mission. This question needs an introduction, and it comes from the mission field:

There was a certain missionary in my mission [South Africa Cape Town Mission] that had an enormously profound influence on me. I saw more of Christ’s image in his countenance than any other person I had ever met. Although he was not a companion of mine (love all 16 of you!), I was always eager to see him and serve around him because of the light he possessed. Very few times in my life has an individual made that much of an impact on me. I wanted to do better, be better, and work harder after every interaction I had with him.

I reflect on what made him that way. He was a seemingly average person with average abilities. So how did he get to that point? Why, when he would walk into a room, did everyone simply love him? And all the while, he seemed oblivious to the fact he was so well loved. After quite a lengthy session of beating around the bush, I have broken the question down in two parts:

  • How does someone truly receive Christ’s image in their countenance?
  • How do they maintain this image?

And I’m not talking about “Read your scriptures”, “Pray”, or “Go to church”. Those answers are obvious, and I know ALL of the missionaries in my mission (and surely all over the world) do all three almost daily, if not more, yet not all missionaries possess this gift. But let’s think a little deeper here as to what makes a person, even a 20-something young man the world’s glitz and glamor would likely never notice, so fortunate to almost literally personify Christ in their every day life?

I’m interested in what you come up with, because if we can crack the code and motivate ourselves to apply it, just THINK of how incredible mankind would become πŸ™‚

~Matt

web statistics

Posted on November 10, 2012, in Christlike Attributes, God, the Nature of. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I know someone who fits what you are talking about here and I asked them why everyone loves him and he is always able to dispell contention. He had to think for a while, but after a few hours, he came to me and said that he was taught to pray when he was three years old and he prayed that God would keep him safe ever night. But what really changed his life was when he was five years old and began to pray that he would always have love and patience for other people. He firmly believes that whatever a person prays for long enough, he will get. Perhaps he’s right. Maybe our scripture reading and prayers and focus has to shift from serving ourselves to serving others. Then we will see that mighty change you’re talking about..

Leave a Reply

